73 Followers
49 Following
KBooks

Kayleigh {K-Books}

I'm a 20-something Psychology Lecturer and Literacy specialist who is obsessed with anything bookish. I run K-Books, a book-blog that has been going for 2 and a half years. I am also a publicist for Spencer Hill Press.

Uninvited (Uninvited #1)

Uninvited - Sophie Jordan

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

 

I've been a huge fan of Sophie Jordan since I picked up her YA debut Firelight. Her incredible writing style and her insane storytelling talent sucked me in and I couldn't wait for whatever she should write next. I then devoured her debut NA novel and yet again I was left dying to read more of her work. It's no surprise to anyone that I adore dystopia novels so when I heard that Sophie was writing a dystopia I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I just knew it was going to be awesome... and it was. Uninvited is the unique dystopia novel that everybody has been dying to get their hands on.

Imagine if we knew who was dangerous and who wasn't? Would it change our whole world and the way we act in social groups? Well we can. The kill gene has been identified and everyone is getting tested for the kill gene. Davy has always been the perfect girl. Dating the most popular boy in school and already set for her scholarship for Julliard her life is perfect. Until she finds out that she tested positive for the kill gene. Soon her whole life has been turned upside down and everyone withdraws and fears her... even her mother shows fear. Davy knows that this has to be a mistake but how can she prove them wrong when everyone has already branded her as dangerous? And can she prove them wrong or is there a deadly person hiding underneath the facade?

Uninvited completely blew me away. One thing I adore about dystopia novels is trying to wrap my mind around these extremist future worlds. I love how different they are and I love delving into these new worlds where everything is insane. This is one of the books that made me think the most. To imagine just what it would be like if they did find out that we have a 'kill gene'. How it would make us rethink everything we had thought about those people. Sophie Jordan does an insanely amazing job of bringing us this incredibly thought-provoking novel. I couldn't put the book down once I had started it.

We live the story through Davy. We step into her shoes and find out what it would be like to be excluded by everyone apart from those who we had always perceived as dangerous. We really identify with Davy and go on this incredibly personal journey with her. She really goes through a lot and starts to question everything she knows.

I cannot wait for the sequel to this novel. I just know it is going to be incredible. Sophie Jordan has proven once again that she truly can write anything and excel at it. Be it paranormal, contemporary romance or dystopia her novels are truly heartstopping, thought-provoking and masterful. I loved every single second of this novel and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel and find out what is going to happen.

"I can't pretend you don't exist for me."